Crowborough Town Council Crowborough Town Council Logo Council Offices,
Pine Grove, TN6 1DH
East Sussex, 01892 652907
Skip to main content

Who is responsible?

The Crowborough area is part of a County/District structure and is served by 3 councils, Wealden District Council, East Sussex County Council and Crowborough Town Council.

It can sometimes be confusing to work out which council is responsible for which service, so to help you find the information that you are looking for, we have created this handy leaflet.  It lists which council or authority is responsible for many of the day to day services within the Crowborough area, with contact details and information on who to contact.

Button to click to link to who is responsible leaflet

Crowborough Town Council
The Council Offices,
Pine Grove,
East Sussex,

Telephone: 01892 652907


You can find the contact details of your Crowborough Town Council Councillors here.

  • Allotments
  • Bluebell Wood
  • Bus Shelters
  • Canada Green
  • Cemetery
  • Chapel Green
  • Clokes Corner
  • Country Park
  • Dog Bins (provision)
  • Floral Arrangements
  • Palesgate Meadow
  • Poster Boards
  • Recreation Grounds
  • The Ghyll
  • War Memorial
  • Whitehill Centre

Wealden is the largest district in East Sussex covering 322.4 square miles (83502 hectares).  One half of the Wealden population is located in the five main towns of Crowborough, Hailsham, Heathfield, Polegate and Uckfield, with the remainder divided among 37 rural parishes.

Wealden District Council

Council Offices,
Vicarage Lane,
East Sussex,
BN27 2AX

Telephone: 01323 443322


You can find the contact details of your Wealden District Councillors here.

  • Litter Bins (except on Crowborough Town Council areas)
  • Building Regulations
  • Car Parks
  • Council Tax and business rates
  • Elections
  • Electoral Roll
  • Environmental Health
  • Footpaths (cleaning)
  • Household Waste Collection (inc. bulky items)
  • Housing and housing benefit
  • Planning & Development
  • Public and Street Cleaning
  • Tree preservation
  • Waste Collection and Recycling

East Sussex County Council
County Hall,
St Anne’s Crescent,
East Sussex, BN7 1UE

Telephone: 0345 6080190


You can find the contact details of your East Sussex County Councillors here.

  • Blue Badges
  • Bus Passes
  • Drains
  • Education/Schools
  • Footpaths (maintenance)
  • Grass Cutting/Verges
  • Grit Bins
  • Highways/Road Maintenance
  • Library
  • Registration of Births, Deaths and Marriages
  • Social Services
  • Street Lighting
  • Trading Standards
  • Waste/Recycling sites